Godefroy Dester, maître in 1774.
The Château de Saint Cloud, the country house of the Gondi family, was bought in 1658 by Philippe d'Orlèans, Louis XIV's brother. He appointed the architect Jules Hardoin Mansart who built one of the most beautiful palaces on the outskirts of Paris. The magnificent park with its much admired fountains was designed by Lenôtre. Throughout the 18th century it remained the principal country residence of the Orlèans family until it was bought in 1785 by Marie-Antoinette. St Cloud was unique among the Royal châteaux in that it was owned by the Queen. It later became one of Napoleon's favorite residences and was the site of many important state events until its destruction in 1870. A quantity of furniture was brought in during the Directoire period, when it is known that Napoleon was beginning to furnish the château before he was made Emperor.