A pair of candelabra, each with identical faceted and diamond-cut stem, finial arrangement, arms and use of ormolu guilloche banding is attributed to Parker and Perry, c. 1800 and illustrated in M. Mortimer, The English Glass Chandelier, Woodbridge, 2000, p. 106, plate 53. Mortimer notes that the distinctive arm pattern, with short inner curve and extended outer curve, a feature of the present lot, seems to be a unique characteristic of the work of Parker and Perry. Another very closely related example is at the Winterthur museum and illustrated Ibid, p. 18, plate 9.
Founded by William Parker (d.1784) in Fleet Street, Parker and Perry enjoyed the patronage of King and Court, ranging from George, Prince of Wales to William Beckford. After William Parker's death the firm continued under his son Samuel, who in 1803 formed a partnership with William Perry. The firm supplied chandeliers for Carlton House from 1808, and later for the Royal Pavilion at Brighton.