PINDER, Ulrich (fl.1489-1509). Speculum passionis domini nostri Ihesu christi. Nuremberg: [printer for the Sodalitas Celtica, ?F.Peypus], 30 August 1507.

Lot 75 / Sale 5334
pinder, ulrich (fl.1489-1509). <i>speculum passionis domini nostri ihesu christi.</i> nuremberg: [printer for the sodalitas celtica, ?f.peypus], 30 august 1507.

Price Realized £13,750
($21,258)
Sales totals are hammer price plus buyer’s premium and do not reflect costs, financing fees or application of buyer’s or seller’s credits.

Estimate
  • £10,000 - £15,000
  • ($16,000 - $23,000)

Sale Information Sale 5334
Valuable Printed Books and Manuscripts
13 June 2012
London, King Street

Lot Description PINDER, Ulrich (fl.1489-1509). Speculum passionis domini nostri Ihesu christi. Nuremberg: [printer for the Sodalitas Celtica, ?F.Peypus], 30 August 1507.

Median 2° (292 x 204mm). 94 leaves (including final blank). Roman type, double column. Initial spaces with guide letters. 39 FULL-PAGE WOODCUTS (including 5 repeats), of which 36 by HANS SCHAÜFLELEIN, two (on M2v and N2v) signed with his monogram and crossed-shovel device, the three remaining cuts (I4v Nailing of Christ to the Cross, K1r Erection of the Cross and L6r Crucifixion) and the three-quarter page cut on A2v (Man of Sorrows) are by HANS BALDUNG GRIEN, numerous smaller woodcuts, some within ornamental two-part borders. (Insignificant repairs to 10 leaves, small wormhole at foot of last two leaves, occasional light soiling or spotting.) Contemporary orange-painted vellum over pasteboard, significant remnants of two pairs of leather ties at fore-edges (extremities rubbed revealing the vellum beneath the paint and occasionally the pasteboard beneath the vellum, small tears at head and foot of spine, small sections lacking from lower outer corners); modern cloth box. Provenance: marginal notes in an early hand.

FIRST EDITION. The first book to contain woodcuts signed by Schaüfelein. Ulrich Pinder is known to have practiced medicine in Nuremberg from 1493, and by 1507 was personal physician to Archduke Friedrich von Sachsen and a member of the Sodalitas Celtica. He had already made use of the engravers from Dürer's atelier - Schaüfelein, Grien, Wolf Traut and Hans von Kulmbach - for his Der Beschlossene Gart (1502), in which the Crucifixion cut and most of the smaller woodcuts in the present work made their first appearance. Dodgson attributed the cut of Christ with the apostles on D4v to Wolf Traut. Adams P-1243; Hollstein II:128; M.Mende. Hans Baldung Grien, Das Graphische Werk (1978), 286-297; Brunet IV, 664; Dodgson I:505, II:5, 17; Davies, Murray German 333.

Pre-Lot Text PROPERTY OF A DISTINGUISHED EUROPEAN COLLECTOR

Department Information Books & Manuscripts

Register to Bid: Please register online at www.christies.com
or contact the Christie's Bid Department at:
NY: +1 212 636 2437
London: +44 (0)20 7389 2658
Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm local times

Contact our Specialists Margaret Ford
mford@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2150

Kay Sutton
ksutton@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2156

Rupert Neelands
rneelands@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2674

Thomas Venning
tvenning@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2255

Sven becker
sbecker@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2154

Julian Wilson
jwilson@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2157

Susannah Morris
smorris@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2448

Stefania Pandakovic
spandakovic@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2158

Eugenio Donadoni
edonadoni@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2152

Administrator
Isabel Paulus
ipaulus@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2153