Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • Sale 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

Upcoming Sales in this Department

Tuesday, 7 July 2015

The Country Home

London, South Kensington

Old Master & British Drawings & Watercolours

London, King Street

Wednesday, 8 July 2015

The Country Home

London, South Kensington

The Collection of a Distinguished Swiss Gentleman

London, King Street

Thursday, 9 July 2015

Old Master & British Paintings Evening Sale

London, King Street

The Exceptional Sale 2015

London, King Street

Friday, 10 July 2015

Old Master & British Paintings Day Sale

London, King Street

Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Valuable Books and Manuscripts Including Cartography

London, King Street

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

Christie's Interiors

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 18 August 2015

Christie's Interiors - Including 20th/21st Century Pictures

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 25 August 2015

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 26 August 2015

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

The Ruth and Carl Barron Collection of Fine Chinese Snuff Bottles: Part I

New York, Rockefeller Center

Mandarin & Menagerie: The Sowell Collection, Part II

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 17 September 2015

Elevated Beauty: Fine Chinese Display Stands from An Important Private American Collection

New York, Rockefeller Center

Fine Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

The Lai Family Collection of Fine Chinese Furniture and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Friday, 18 September 2015

Fine Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 1 October 2015

Antiquities

London, King Street

Tuesday, 6 October 2015

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 7 October 2015

The Pavilion Sale

Hong Kong

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 8 October 2015

Interiors

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Opulent Eye

New York, Rockefeller Center

Friday, 23 October 2015

Books and Manuscripts

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Forever Chic

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 28 October 2015

European Noble & Private Collections

London, South Kensington

Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 29 October 2015

Old Master & British Paintings

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 10 November 2015

Fine Chinese Ceramics & Works of Art

London, King Street

Wednesday, 11 November 2015

Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

London, South Kensington

Friday, 13 November 2015

Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

London, South Kensington

Thursday, 19 November 2015

Books & Manuscripts

London, South Kensington

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close


  • Please note that we cannot guarantee the timely receipt of your alerts. Auction results are not official until 48 hours after the sale.

close

View All Upcoming Sales

x


Agree and Download