Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • SALE 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

UPCOMING SALES IN THIS DEPARTMENT

Wednesday, 17 August 2016

Tuesday, 13 September 2016

The Metropolitan Museum: Online

13 September - 22 September
Online

  • Bidding begins on 13 September 2016

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Interiors

London, South Kensington

The Ruth and Carl Barron Collection of Fine Chinese Snuff Bottles: Part III

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tableaux Anciens

Paris

Thursday, 15 September 2016

Collected in America: Chinese Ceramics from the Metropolitan Museum of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Collection

Paris

The Classic Age of Chinese Ceramics: The Linyushanren Collection, Part II

New York, Rockefeller Center

Friday, 16 September 2016

Fine Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

The Flacks Family Collection: A Very Personal Selection

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 20 September 2016

American Furniture, Outsider Art and Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Thursday, 22 September 2016

The Private Collection of President and Mrs. Ronald Reagan

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 27 September 2016

Brian Sewell - Critic & Collector

London, King Street

Monday, 10 October 2016

The Opulent Eye

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, King Street

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Antiquities

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Old Master Paintings

New York, Rockefeller Center

Christie's Interiors

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 2 November 2016

Old Master and British Paintings

London, South Kensington

Noble & Private Collections Part I

London, King Street

Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Chinese Ceramics & Works of Art

London, King Street

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Old Masters & 19th Century Art - including Dutch Impressionisme

Amsterdam

Silver & Gold Boxes

London, King Street

Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Old Masters & 19th Century Art - including Dutch Impressionisme

Amsterdam

Thursday, 17 November 2016

English Furniture, Clocks, European Ceramics and Portrait Miniatures

London, King Street

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Bugatti Sale

Paris

Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Christie's Interiors

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 29 November 2016

The Opulent Eye - 19th Century Furniture, Sculpture, Works of Art, Ceramics & Carpets

London, King Street

Wednesday, 30 November 2016

The Giancarlo Beltrame Library of Scientific Books, Part II

London, King Street

Thursday, 1 December 2016

Valuable Printed Books and Manuscripts

London, King Street

Friday, 2 December 2016

Valuable Printed Books and Manuscripts

London, King Street

Monday, 5 December 2016

Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Old Master & British Paintings Evening Sale

London, King Street

Wednesday, 7 December 2016

Old Master and British Paintings

London, King Street

Old Master Drawings and British Drawings and Watercolours

London, South Kensington

Friday, 9 December 2016

Antiquities

London, King Street

Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Interiors

London, South Kensington

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close

View All Upcoming Sales

x


Agree and Download