Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • Sale 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

Upcoming Sales in this Department

Saturday, 14 March 2015

Bande dessinée et illustration

Paris

Sunday, 15 March 2015

Fine Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Monday, 16 March 2015

Fine Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

An Era of Inspiration: 17th-Century Chinese Porcelains from the Collection of Julia and John Curtis

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 17 March 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part I: Masterpieces - including Indian, Himalayan and Southeast Asian Works of Art, Japanese Works of Art, Chinese Furniture, Sculpture and Works of Art and Chinese Paintings

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 18 March 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part VII: Chinese Works of Art Online

18 March - 27 March
Online Only

  • Bidding Begins on March 18, 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part II: Chinese Furniture, Works of Art and Chinese Paintings

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 19 March 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part III: Chinese Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Friday, 20 March 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part IV: Chinese Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Saturday, 21 March 2015

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part V: English Furniture and Works of Art, Chinese Carpets, Old Master and 19th Century pictures, Silver, European Porcelain and Glass

New York, Rockefeller Center

The Collection of Robert Hatfield Ellsworth Part VI: The Library

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Dessins anciens et du XIXe siècle incluant la collection I.Q van Regteren Altena

Paris

Tuesday, 7 April 2015

Books and Manuscripts

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Antiquities

London, King Street

Thursday, 16 April 2015

The Opulent Eye: 19th Century Furniture, Sculpture, Works of Art & Ceramics

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, King Street

Thursday, 23 April 2015

Travel, Science & Natural History

London, South Kensington

Monday, 27 April 2015

Livres & manuscrits

Paris

Thursday, 30 April 2015

Old Master Paintings

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 12 May 2015

Chinese Ceramics, Works of Art and Textiles

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

The I.Q. van Regteren Altena Collection Part IV

Amsterdam

Friday, 15 May 2015

Chinese Ceramics, Works of Art and Textiles

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Centuries of Style

London, King Street

Connoisseur's Eye

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 3 June 2015

Centuries of Style

London, King Street

The Imperial Sale & Important Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

Hong Kong

Old Master Paintings

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 4 June 2015

Antiquities

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 9 June 2015

Fine Printed Books and Manuscripts

London, South Kensington

Friday, 12 June 2015

Books and Manuscripts

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Important Books and Manuscripts from the Library of Jean A. Bonna

London, King Street

Tuesday, 7 July 2015

Old Master & British Drawings & Watercolours

London, King Street

Thursday, 9 July 2015

Old Master & British Paintings Evening Sale

London, King Street

Friday, 10 July 2015

Old Master & British Paintings Day Sale

London, King Street

Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Valuable Books and Manuscripts, including Cartography

London, King Street

Sporting Books from the Collection of Joel Spitz

London, King Street

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close


  • Please note that we cannot guarantee the timely receipt of your alerts. Auction results are not official until 48 hours after the sale.

close

View All Upcoming Sales

x


Agree and Download