Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • SALE 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

UPCOMING SALES IN THIS DEPARTMENT

Thursday, 30 June 2016

Defining British Art Evening Sale

London, King Street

Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Old Master & British Drawings

London, King Street

Wednesday, 6 July 2016

Antiquities

London, King Street

The Shlomo Moussaieff Collection of Ancient Glass

London, King Street

Thursday, 7 July 2016

Old Master and British Paintings Evening Sale

London, King Street

Online Summer Sale: The Art of China

7 July - 21 July
Online

  • Bidding begins on 07 July 2016

Friday, 8 July 2016

Old Master and British Paintings Day Sale

London, King Street

Wednesday, 13 July 2016

Valuable Books and Manuscripts

London, King Street

THE CLAUDIO BRAVO COLLECTION: FROM THE ARTIST'S STUDIO AND HOME, MOROCCO

London, South Kensington

The Giancarlo Beltrame Library of Scientific Books, Part I

London, King Street

Tuesday, 26 July 2016

Living With Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 27 July 2016

Living With Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

American Furniture, Outsider Art and Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, King Street

Tuesday, 1 November 2016

Printed Books and Manurscripts

London, King Street

Wednesday, 2 November 2016

Old Master and British Paintings

London, South Kensington

Noble & Private Collections

London, King Street

Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Chinese Ceramics & Works of Art

London, King Street

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Old Masters & 19th Century Art - (including Dutch Impressionisme)

15 November - 16 November
Online

  • Bidding begins on 15 November 2016

Silver & Gold Boxes

London, King Street

Thursday, 17 November 2016

English Furniture, Clocks, European Ceramics and Portrait Miniatures

London, King Street

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close

View All Upcoming Sales

x


Agree and Download