Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • Sale 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

Upcoming Sales in this Department

Thursday, 22 January 2015

Important Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Monday, 26 January 2015

Mandarin & Menagerie: The Sowell Collection and Chinese Export Art From Various Owners

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 28 January 2015

Old Master Paintings Part I

New York, Rockefeller Center

Renaissance Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 29 January 2015

Old Master Drawings

New York, Rockefeller Center

Old Master Paintings Part II

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 19 March 2015

Chinese Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Friday, 20 March 2015

Chinese Works of Art

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 7 April 2015

Books and Manuscripts

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Antiquities

London, King Street

Thursday, 16 April 2015

Opulent Eye

New York, Rockefeller Center

Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, King Street

Thursday, 30 April 2015

Old Master Paintings

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 12 May 2015

Chinese Ceramics, Works of Art and Textiles

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

The I.Q. van Regteren Altena Collection Part IV

Amsterdam

Friday, 15 May 2015

Chinese Ceramics, Works of Art and Textiles

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

Fine Printed Books and Manuscripts

London, King Street

Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close


  • Please note that we cannot guarantee the timely receipt of your alerts. Auction results are not official until 48 hours after the sale.

close

View All Upcoming Sales