Christie's | Fine Art Auction House

Arbiters of Style: The Collection of Anthony Hail & Charles Posey

  • Sale 3433
  • New York, Rockefeller Plaza
  • 8 October 2013

The Collection of Anthony Hail and Charles Posey encompasses 234 lots with an eclectic and seamless mix of objects, furniture and works of art, the collection comprises European furniture, spectacular Russian chandeliers, Chinese works of art, Lamps from Billy Baldwin and Old Master paintings among other things. Each lot within the sale was meticulously chosen by Posey and Hail to fill and form their home, demonstrating the timeless aesthetic of a well-informed combination of styles and time periods. Hail effectively rose to icon status within the design world in the 1960’s, when he spent much of his time with Andy Warhol, Truman Capote and David Hicks, whom he often entertained at home. The apartment was absolutely representative of a life well lived, demonstrating Hail’s renowned sensibility, which was formal yet tremendously livable.

Auction Results

Sale Total including Buyer’s Premium: 1,927,875 (USD)

Upcoming Sales in this Department

Tuesday, 30 September 2014

European Noble & Private Collections Part I

London, King Street

Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Antiquities

London, King Street

European Noble & Private Collections Part II

London, South Kensington

Monday, 6 October 2014

Vente Collection François Antonovich

Paris

Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Oriental Rugs and Carpets

London, King Street

Thursday, 9 October 2014

Books & Manuscripts

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Silver

New York, Rockefeller Center

Thursday, 30 October 2014

Old Master and British Paintings

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 4 November 2014

Chinese Ceramics and Works of Art

London, King Street

Wednesday, 5 November 2014

Vente collection littéraire :Verlaine, Rimbaud, Mallarmé - La collection littéraire d'Édouard-Henri Fischer

Paris

Friday, 7 November 2014

Chinese Ceramics, Works of Art and Textiles

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 18 November 2014

Opulent Eye

New York, Rockefeller Center

Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Valuable Manuscripts and Printed Books

London, King Street

Tuesday, 25 November 2014

Centuries of Style

London, King Street

Old Masters, 19th Century and Impressionist Art

Amsterdam

Fine Printed Books and Manuscripts

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 26 November 2014

Centuries of Style

London, King Street

Old Masters, 19th Century and Impressionist Art

Amsterdam

Tuesday, 2 December 2014

Old Master & British Pictures Evening Sale

London, King Street

Old Master & British Drawings

London, South Kensington

Wednesday, 3 December 2014

Old Master & British Pictures Day Sale

London, South Kensington

Tuesday, 9 December 2014

Vente Livres Anciens, Livres d'Artistes et Manuscrits

Paris

Wednesday, 10 December 2014

The I.Q. van Regteren Altena Collection

Amsterdam

Thursday, 11 December 2014

Antiquities

New York, Rockefeller Center

Ancient Jewelry

New York, Rockefeller Center

close

AUCTION TIMES

VIEWING TIMES

CONTACT INFO

close


  • Please note that we cannot guarantee the timely receipt of your alerts. Auction results are not official until 48 hours after the sale.

close

View All Upcoming Sales