Christie's | Fine Art Auction House

Post-War And Contemporary Art

London, 4 - 7 February 2014


Christie’s February Auctions of Impressionist and Modern Art Realise £196.9 Million/ $320.7 Million / €236.8 Million

Artist Records Established for Juan Gris, Carlo Carrà, Le Corbusier, Dorothea Tanning and Henry Moore (Work on Paper)

Christie’s auctions of Impressionist and Modern Art in London between 4 and 7 February realised £196,987,225/ $320,743,036/€236,828,206, demonstrating the breadth, depth and quality of the works which were offered, attracting new and established international buyers to this category. The top price of the week was paid for Nature morte à la nappe à carreaux, 1915, by Juan Gris (1887-1927) which sold for £34,802,500/ $56,658,470/ €41,832,605, setting a new world record price for the artist at auction, and for any Cubist work of art (estimate: £12-18 million). In total, 35 lots sold for over £1 million (47 for over $1 million).


Results

Sale Information

THE ART OF THE SURREAL EVENING SALE

8 King Street,
St. James's, London

Auction Times Feb 4, 7pm

Viewing Times London, King Street
Jan 30, 10am - 4:30pm
Jan 31, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 1, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 2, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 3, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 4, 9am - 3:30pm

Contact Olivier Camu
ocamu@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2450

Giovanna Bertazzoni
gbertazzoni@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2542

Jay Vincze
jvincze@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2536

IMPRESSIONIST/MODERN EVENING SALE

8 King Street,
St. James's, London

Auction Times Feb 4, 7pm

Viewing Times London, King Street
Jan 30, 10am - 4:30pm
Jan 31, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 1, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 2, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 3,   9am - 4:30pm
Feb 4,   9am - 3:30pm

Contact Olivier Camu
ocamu@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2450

Giovanna Bertazzoni
gbertazzoni@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2542

Jay Vincze
jvincze@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2536

Liberté Nuti
lnuti@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2441

IMPRESSIONIST/MODERN DAY SALE

8 King Street,
St. James's, London

Auction Times Feb 5, 2pm

Viewing Times London, King Street
Jan 30, 10am - 4:30pm
Jan 31, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 1, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 2, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 3, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 4, 9am - 3:30pm

Contact Jason Carey
jcarey@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2833

Michelle McMullan
mmcmullan@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2137

IMPRESSIONIST/MODERN WORKS ON PAPER

8 King Street,
St. James's, London

Auction Times Feb 5, 10:30am

Viewing Times London, King Street
Jan 30, 10am - 4:30pm
Jan 31, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 1, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 2, 12pm - 5pm
Feb 3, 9am - 4:30pm
Feb 4, 9am - 3:30pm

Contact Cornelia Svedman
csvedman@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2561

IMPRESSIONIST/MODERN ART & PICASSO CERAMICS

85 Old Brompton Road,
London

Auction Times Feb 7, 10:30am & 2pm

Viewing Times London, South Kensington
Feb 1, 11am - 5pm
Feb 2, 11am - 5pm
Feb 3, 9am - 7:30pm
Feb 4, 9am - 5pm
Feb 5, 9am - 5pm
Feb 6, 9am - 5pm

Contact Keith Gill
kgill@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7389 2175

Imogen Kerr
ikerr@christies.com
+44 (0)20 7752 3177