Lot Essay
The firm of Perry & Co. was one of the most prolific lighting manufacturers of their era and counted among their illustrious patrons the Prince Regent (later William IV) and the Dukes of Devonshire. The firm's New Bond Street premises were established in 1817 when William Perry left the glass manufacturers Parker and Sons upon the death of his brother-in-law, Samuel Parker. Perry was joined by his nephew, George, and by 1835 he was a partner in the business. One of Perry & Co.'s most significant commissions was for a set of nine chandeliers for the Music Room in the Royal Pavillion at Brighton. George Perry used this coup to boast of his firm's skills in 1835, stating 'We trust that our having made the greater part of the lustres for the late King, and our being now employed in making those for the new Palace of his present Majesty (William IV), will be some guarantee for the character of our Manufacture.' Perry & Co. remained at their New Bond Street address until 1890 when they moved to new premises on Grafton Street. The firm was sold in 1925 and their stock liquidated in 1935 (M. Mortimer, The English Glass Chandelier, Suffolk, 2000, pp. 150-55).