Lot Content

Global notice COVID-19 Important notice
A set of six Chinese albums
inscribed in ink on paper entitled 'Four Books of Literature', put together as a concise introduction to Confusainism, containing the 'Lunyu' by Confucius, the 'Mengzi' by Meng Ke and two chapters of the forty nine Li Ji (notes on rites), dated Jiaqin Gengwu year (1810); and a set of eight volumes entitled 'Lienu Zhuan' (Biographies of Exemplary Women), inscribed and illustrated.

From the begining of the Ming Dynasty, the 'Sishu' were used as the focus of education in preparation of the Imperial examinations. (2)

More from Oriental Paintings and Prints

View All
View All