This oval pier glass reflects the new fashion for the Roman medallion. It was made by the celebrated 'Looking Glass Merchants', 'glass-grinders' and 'glass sellers', Francis and John Booker. It bears the brother's label on the reverse with their names neatly framed by a rococo border. The extent of their wares is revealed in the beautiful trade card (lot 52) which incorporates a delicate rococo border interspersed with illustrations and a long detailed list. An advertisement by John Booker, placed in both The Hibernian Journal and Saunder's News-Letter and Daily Advertiser, 18-21 November 1774, mentions 'square and oval frames, carved and finished in the best burnished gold; oval glass girandoles'. It is rather naively composed of C-scrolls surmounted by a naive basket of flowers above a folly below three arches, all very flatly carved. Similar architectural ornament is a recurrent feature on the cresting of Irish mirrors of this date.
The Booker brothers are listed in premises in Essex Bridge, Dublin which is where their father is recorded from 1715. Francis Booker rose to become Lord Mayor of Dublin in 1772 and died later that year, leaving the business to be carried on by his brother. This mirror must therefore date from pre-1772 as it bears the label of both brothers. John Booker, who was also a carver and gilder, continued the shop in Essex Bridge until 1786 when he moved to Jervis Street. Three years later he was also dead, and the experience of two generations of looking-glass sellers died with him.