HISTORY OF THE SERIES
This tapestry, forming part of The Triumphs of the Gods series woven by both Jodocus de Vos (d. 1734) and Philippe Auwercx from approximately 1700 onwards, forms part of the general interest during the early 18th century in these subjects. Several series by the same name were woven by different weavers, each commissioning different designs. This series has recently been attributed to Victor Janssens (d. 1736) and Augusting Coppens (d. 1740) who was responsible for the landscapes, worked at the same time as Lodewijk van Schoor, had also popularized a series of this title woven by Jacob van der Borcht, as well as Jan van Orley whose own design to this title was woven by Hendrik Reydams, Urbanus and Daniel Leyniers.
The workshop of de Vos was founded by his father Marcus in the mid-17th Century and flourished rapidly. At its height, in the early 18th century, the workshop was the largest tapestry atelier of Brussels and was by then under the directorship of Jodocus, who received his privileges in 1705.
(K. Brosens, A Contextual Study of Brussels Tapestry, 1670 - 1770, Brussels, 2004, pp. 101 - 103).