Commissioned by Tiffany's children around 1912, The Art Work of Louis C. Tiffany was written by Charles de Kay (although he is not credited), probably in conjunction with Tiffany himself. In 1914, 492 copies were printed on Japan paper and a smaller edition of ten was printed on parchment with gilt bronze clasps. Tiffany gave the books to friends and clients, often with an inscription from him. This copy, number seven of the ten printed on parchment, is inscribed by Tiffany as being for his library at Laurelton Hall.
The book outlines Tiffany's artistic achievements, from his paintings and jewelry to glass, enamels and windows. Mention of his lamps was curiously omitted. Chapter VII, "A Builder of Homes," lavishes much attention on Tiffany's work creating unique residences in both town and country. Laurelton Hall was given special attention as a "dwelling different from any other in the land." (page 62)
This book was in the collection of Vito D'Agostino (1898-1968), an early and important collector of the work of Tiffany Studios. He amassed an incredible collection of glass, lamps and windows over the span of more than forty years. D'Agostino was quite familiar with Laurelton Hall itself. He dined there with one of Tiffany's daughters and at one point considered purchasing the property after Tiffany's death. D'Agostino purchased many pieces at the 1946 Parke-Bernet sale of property from the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation. In the section of books offered, a copy of The Art Work of Louis C. Tiffany on parchment "inscribed by Mr. Tiffany on the front-end leaf", along with another copy on Japan paper, were listed in the catalogue and marked as withdrawn from the sale. Presumably, D'Agostino, an avid book collector, managed to acquire these rare volumes in advance of the sale.