Teniers scenes are named after David II (1610 - 1690) and David III (1638 - 1685) Tenier's creations. Although none of the multitude of tapestries woven in the numerous weaving centers that are known as Teniers tapestries can be linked to any of their specific designs, already documents of the very early 18th Century refer to these tapestries as such. The first evidence of tapestries of these subjects is the delivery of four tapestries to Prince Rupert of Bavaria in 1693 by Jacob van der Borght and Jeroen le Clerc (today in the 'Wittelsbacher Ausgleichsfond'), but their greatest success was in the early 18th Century when most weaving centers adopted these subjects. In Brussels specifically, most weavers commissioned their own designs. The Leyniers family is known to have commissioned Teniers subjects from Ignatius de Hondt, Jacob van Helmont and Jan van Orley with landscapes designed by Augustin Coppens.
The signature is that of Urban Leyniers and Daniel III Leyniers, who were in partnership between 1729 and 1745. They manufactured a number of series including those of The Triumphs of the Gods, Telemachus and of course the Teniers subjects. Several Teniers tapestries by Urban and Daniel III are illustrated in G. Delmarcel, Flemish Tapestry, Tielt, 1999, pp. 352 - 356, figs. 13.2, 13.7 and 13.9. A tapestry of virtually identical subject and almost certainly woven in the same workshop, but with differing borders, from the collection of M. Demachy, was sold Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 24 May 1912, lot 106.
(G. Delmarcel, Flemish Tapestry, Tielt, 1999).