Supplied circa 1760 to William Wentworth, 4th Earl of Strafford (1722-91) for the East Tapestry Room at Wentworth Castle, Yorkshire.
Thence by descent at Wentworth until 1951, when it was removed by Major and Mrs. Vernon-Wentworth to Blackheath Mansion, Suffolk.
'Wentworth Castle, Yorkshire', Country Life, 18 April 1903, p. 504 C. Latham, In English Homes, London, 1904, vol. 1, p. 189.
F. Lenygon, English Decoration and Furniture of the XVI-XIX Centuries from 1640- 1760, London, 1914, vol. II, p. 17, fig. 13.
'Wentworth Castle, Yorkshire', Country Life, 8 October 1924, p. 595.
M. Jourdain, English Interior Decoration 1500-1830, London, 1950, pl. 42.
J. Lees-Milne, English Country House Baroque 1685-1715, London, 1968, p. 242.