Barden Tower is situated in Yorkshire, on the edge of the Wharfedale road leading from Bolton Abbey to the village of Brunsall. It was built in the fifteenth century and tradition credits Henry Clifford with its construction. In 1658 it was restored by Lady Anne Clifford who juxtaposed the fifteenth century traditional structures with more modern seventeenth century architecture creating an interesting blend of styles. The building used to be a fortified hunting lodge and was a popular subject with painters. The tower is in ruins today.
Peter de Wint exhibited another view of Barden Tower at the Royal Academy, 1814, no. 273.