These pole-screens, with acanthus-wrapped and voluted 'claws', are raised on salamonic-spiralled pillars in the same Elizabethan 'Gothic' fashion as features on the table bearing the brand adopted by the Oxford Street firm established by Henry Miles and John Edwards in 1822.
In the 1795 Inventory, the Drawing Room had '2 Sofa's Mahogany frames cover'd with work' and '10 Chairs stuff'd backs and Seats cover'd with work', as well as a 'Firescreen 0.8.0'. It is possible therefore that the needlework panels for these firescreens were re-used by J.G. Crace from the now lost Drawing Room suite.
In the 1872 'Inventory of the Household Goods and Furniture etc. etc. at Chirk Castle', these screens are listed as 'Pole screen with tapestry shade' in the Drawing Room and Saloon.