About Christie's

James Christie who we are

James Christie, 1778
Thomas Gainsborough (1727-1788)
oil on canvas
The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles

Christie’s is a name and place that speaks of extraordinary art, unparalleled service, expertise and global reach. Founded in 1766 by James Christie, Christie's has since conducted the greatest and most celebrated auctions through the centuries providing a popular showcase for the unique and the beautiful. Christie’s offers around 350 auctions annually in over 80 categories, including all areas of fine and decorative arts, jewellery, photographs, collectibles, wine, and more. Prices range from $200 to over $100 million. Christie's also has a long and successful history conducting private sales for its clients in all categories, with emphasis on Post-War & Contemporary, Impressionist & Modern, Old Masters and Jewellery.

Christie’s has a global presence in 46 countries, with 10 salerooms around the world including in London, New York, Paris, Geneva, Milan, Amsterdam, Dubai, Zürich, Hong Kong, and Shanghai. More recently, Christie’s has led the market with expanded initiatives in growth markets such as Russia, China, India and the United Arab Emirates, with successful sales and exhibitions in Beijing, Mumbai and Dubai.

The History of Christie’s Auction House


Explore Christie’s historic auctions and defining moments in the art market during our more than 250-year history.

Explore more of Christie's



Advisory Board

Advisory Board

American Advisory Board Members

The Lord Carrington, KG, Honorary Chairman
John L. Vogelstein, Chairman
Stephen S. Lash, Vice Chairman
Brook Hazelton, President

Herb Allen, Elizabeth Ballantine, Archbold D. van Beuren, Charlie Blaquier, Stephen Bronfman, Christina Chandris, Bruno Eberli, Ambassador Stuart E. Eizenstat, Ashton Hawkins, Esq., J. Tomilson Hill, III, Barbara Jakobson, Nancy M. Kissinger, Mr. George Klein, Ambassador William H. Luers, Li Chung Pei, Jeffrey E. Perelman, The Honorable Nicholas Platt, Tara Rockefeller, Lynn Forester de Rothschild, Denise Saul, Andrew N. Schiff, M.D., Ambassador Clifford M. Sobel, Michael Steinhardt, John L. Vogelstein, Casey Wasserman

Asian Advisory Council Members

Rebecca Wei, Chairwoman

Raymond Ch'ien, Pierre Chen, The Baroness Dunn,
William Fung, Anthony Lin, Dee Poon, 
Mimi Tang, Robert Tsao, Douglas Woo

China Advisory Council Members

Jinqing Cai, Chairwoman

Qionger Jiang, Pan Gong Kai, Handel Lee,
Mary Ma, Patrick Thomas, Wang Wei

European Advisory Board Members

Pedro Girao, Chairman

Patricia Barbizet, Mrs Alicia Koplowitz Marquesa de Bellavista, Arpad Busson, Kemal Has Cingillioglu, Hélène David-Weill, Ginevra Elkann, I.D. Fürstin zu Fürstenberg, Laurence Graff, H.R.H. Prince Pavlos of Greece, Viscount Linley, Robert Manoukian, Rosita, Duchess of Marlborough, Countess Daniela Memmo d'Amelio, Usha Mittal, Polissena Perrone, Çiğdem Simavi