Lot Content

Global notice COVID-19 Important notice

Event Date23 March | Live auction 19518

The Art of the Surreal

London
The Art of the Surreal

Sale Overview

Christie’s the Art of the Surreal Evening Sale will directly follow the 20th Century Art Evening Sale on 23rd March 2021. The Surreal season is highlighted by René Magritte’s masterpiece Le mois des vendanges (1959), which has remained in a private collection for over 50 years. Several other works by Magritte are presented, spanning his oeuvre with estimates ranging from £500,000 - £10,000,000. Further highlights include a rare 1925 'dream' painting by Joan Miró, Max Ernst’s Cage, forêt et soleil noir (1927), as well as works by Marcel Duchamp, Salvador Dalí, Fancis Picabia, Oscar Domínguez, Jean Arp, Yves Tanguy and Hannah Höch.

Our specialists are on hand for virtual viewing appointments and virtual walk-throughs of our exhibition at King Street. Please contact Olivier Camu by email at ocamu@christies.com or by telephone on +44 (0) 20 7389 2450 to make an appointment or to discuss any works in the sale.

All of our live auctions are enabled for remote bidding from desktop or mobile app via the Christie’s LIVE™ real-time bidding platform.

You may also join us for the live stream at 9am EST / 1pm GMT / 9pm HKT on 23 March to experience the thrill of our hybrid-style live auction and discover remarkable works from We Are All Warriors: The Basquiat Auction, the 20th Century Evening Sale and The Art of the Surreal Evening Sale. Our auctioneer will be taking bids from Christie’s Hong Kong, New York and London salerooms.


An update on Brexit  | Tour Information

White Glove

Explore 20th Century

How to find us

Location image

Address

Launchpad